home / kids / Mum's in Style / Uncategorized

At Home With… Stine Dolva

We meet Stine Dolva, a Norwegian/Danish mama to two little boys, with an impeccable eye and a beautiful interior. Stine is based in Munich but can often be found elsewhere…

IMG_1836.JPG

How would you describe your personal style?

S. I like to keep things natural and simple, with a hint of boho. Functional furniture, fresh flowers, and floral bedding are my personal favorites. My style is also strongly influenced by my Nordic background. White, grey and lightwood make the base for our home. One of my weak points is pillows. My husband would say that we have more than enough already, but I think you can never have too many.

01

What has influenced your interior style?

S. We have been moving around a lot over the last couple of years. Between Norway and Denmark, to Portugal, and last year from north of Germany to south of Germany. It feels wonderful to settle down a bit here in Munich, even though a lot of our furniture and personal belongings are still in storage. Because of all this moving we also had to separate from a lot of things. I find that positive, because that helps keeping it simple. Things gather so fast… To have kids also influence our interior style a lot, as they bring so much stuff with them. High chairs, baby rockers, toys! To include this in a natural way is something I find a bit challenging. We have a very open flat, and my boys don’t have their own room. It gets messy very quickly! I don’t mind the chaos they tend to create, but I also don’t like it when there is too much of it. So I am always working on making the storage possibilities for their things better and easier. My favorite at the moment is baskets that can easily be carried around and filled up with cars and Lego.

02

 

Where do you seek inspiration from for your own interiors/is there a particular look/feel you have in mind?

S. I find a lot of inspiration on Instagram and Pinterest. I love dreaming myself away searching for inspiration for the flat (or for the house that we will hopefully have one day…) I like the keywords boho/natural/Nordic, and that always gives me interesting results. Two of my favorite Instagram accounts for interior inspiration are: ‘saarmanche’ and ‘marsipanogsmilefjes’.

What does home mean to you?

S. As we are now living a busy life in a big city, our home is very important. Somewhere we can relax, step back and just be. Growing up in a city means learning to watch out for cars and bikes all the time. So I also find it important for our boys that they feel free at home and don’t have to be as cautious and careful once they step through the door. With this in mind, our home is childproofed, with robust furniture that can handle being treated like trampolines or turned into racing cars. But I am also not the kind of person who packs away all of the things that can break, or don’t light candles with kids around. I think it is important that they learn to get along with things.

Is there a piece with particular sentimental value to you?

S. The hand crochet blanket for our bed that my grandmother made for us is very important to me. I like the nostalgic summerhouse look it gives, and it almost brings along a light breeze and a feeling of sunshine…

img_1824

If you were going to select something from La Coqueta’s collection what would it be and why

S. For my big boy I would choose the Darro boy jumper in the colour sage together with the Bocusi Bermuda shorts in beige. He is very active, so he needs clothes where he can move freely. This classic and comfortable look makes us both happy!

img_2034

For my little baby I would choose either the Clavijo baby set or the Enciso baby romper. I adore the nostalgic look on a baby, and both these outfits are perfect for the summer.

img_1825

Stine Loves from La Coqueta:

Untitled-4

 

Follow Stine on Instagram here, follow the blog here

Leave a comment